The Scene wins state awards

Members of The Scene staff last fall are, front row left to right, Garrieth Crockett, Chris Cunningham, Kalia White, Rylie Frohock and Rosalind Rhymes; and back row, Tim Bold, adviser Fred Ortlip, Darryl Reece, Isaiah Brooks and adviser Teri Maddox. (Photo by Ryan Gines)

The Scene student newspaper won 25 awards at the Missouri College Media Association conference at Missouri  Western State University in St. Joseph, Mo., earlier this month.

That includes first place in the Sweepstakes category and third place in the Overall Newspaper category for Division 4.

“We had a particularly strong staff last year, and it showed,” said faculty adviser Teri Maddox.

Here are The Scene’s individual awards:

News Writing – Rylie Frohock, first, and Chris Cunningham, second; Feature Writing – Chris Cunningham, first and third, and Shileha Churchill, second; Sports Writing – Timothy Bold, first and second; In-depth News – RylieFrohock, third and honorable mention; Investigative Reporting – Chris Cunningham, first; Regular Column – Samantha Higgins, first, and Rylie Frohock, second; Entertainment Review – Chris Cunningham, second, and Timothy Bold, third; News Photography – Isaiah Brooks, third; Feature Photography – Garrieth Crockett, first; Political/Editorial Cartoon – Jerome Clark, first; Page 1 Design – Darryl Reece, second; Photo Page – Vincent St. Vincent, DeJuan Baskin and Claudio Cobos, first, Darryl Reece, Kalia White and Isaiah Brooks, second, and Darryl Reece and Garrieth Crockett, third; Feature Page – Garrieth Crockett, Timothy Bold and Kalia White, second, and Darryl Reece, Chris Cunningham and DeJuan Baskin, third.